A (Rather Ambitious) Run in the Sun


Today turned out to be absolutely beautiful (and warm!…79 degrees!), so I opted for a run instead of a hike with the dogs (which is okay since I hiked with them for 2 hours again yesterday–10 lb backpack included). I almost took Turbo along, but considering he’s usually lagging behind me for must of the run anyway, I figured that coupled with both of our lack of training in actual warmth would’ve ended poorly.

Thinking back to all the HIIT workouts I’ve been doing on the treadmill, I assumed that I would be able to pick up the pace at least a little compared to usual–this turned out to be a bit ambitious for my lack of running outside in months and the temperatures. Don’t get me wrong…79 degress is not hot to me. However, when I first started off with my run, it was overcast and a little breezy–much cooler feeling than 79. But, of course, as soon as I took off, the clouds parted and there wasn’t so much as a whisper of a breeze, and suddenly it felt much warmer. Did I mention I also didn’t bother with sunscreen??

Still, this 2.5 miler felt pretty good. I didnt’ realize just how exhausted my legs were from yesterday’s hike until half way through the run. Tomorrow will definitely be a resting day for me!

Speaking of that hike, here’s a few pictures from our trek:

The Beaver Dam

The Beaver Dam

 

The ducks are quite elusive and difficult to photograph.

The ducks are quite elusive and difficult to photograph.

 

My little swamp creature.

My little swamp creature.

 

Daisy

Daisy

 

 

 

3 responses to “A (Rather Ambitious) Run in the Sun

Leave a Reply

